Bite-Size: Miniature Textiles from Japan and the UK

Date: 31 October – 14 December 2011
Venue: Daiwa Foundation Japan House, 13/14 Cornwall Terrace, London NW1 4QP UK
Tel: 020 7486 4348 Fax: 020 7486 2914
Organiser: Daiwa Anglo-Japanese Foundation

Lesley Millar MBE, Professor of Textile Culture at the University for the Creative Arts, will curate this exhibition of contemporary textile artists from Japan and the UK to celebrate fifteen years of collaborative activity. The exhibition exemplifies the positive outcomes that can be achieved when peer groups from the two countries come together in a spirit of cooperation and exchange. To celebrate the artists who have provided the foundation for the continuous exchange of ideas between the textile communities in Japan and the UK, Lesley Millar has organised an exhibition of miniature works from each of the artists, 51 in total, who have taken part in her various projects. The participants are drawn from a particular fifteen-year relationship developed over many projects, and this exhibition will be the first time that their works will be shown together. Those taking part represent some of the most important contemporary textile practitioners in Japan and the UK, alongside some of the most exciting emerging talent from the recent exhibitions. Such an exhibition highlights the work of the University for the Creative Arts in stimulating and promoting exchange between the UK and Japan.

A fully illustrated catalogue will be produced in support of the exhibition.

Bite-Size: Miniature Textiles from Japan and the UK showcases all new works by 51 artists: Machiko Agano, MasaeBamba, Tetsuo Fujimoto,Shihoko Fukumoto, Asako Ishizaki, Harumi Isobe, Yuka Kawai, Michiko Kawarabayashi, Hideaki Kizaki, Naomi Kobayashi, Masakazu Kobayashi, Shigeo Kubota, Kyoko Kumai, Jun Mitsuhashi, Kyoko Nitta, Ai Matsumoto, Suzumi Noda, Shoko Nomura, Chika Ohgi, Kiyonori Shimada, Reiko Sudo, Koji Takaki, Yoshiko Tanabe, Chiyoko Tanaka, Masaaki Tate, Mitsuo Toyazaki, Kaori Umeda, Teruyoshi Yoshida, and Naoko Yoshimoto from Japan; and Anniken Amundsen, Jeanette Appleton, Claire Barber, Michael Brennand Wood, Maxine Bristow, Nisha Chadha, Jenny Ford, Frances Geesin, Shelly Goldsmith, Diana Harrison, Philippa Lawrence, Sue Lawty, Lesley Mitchison, Liz Nilsson, Clyde Oliver, Tim Parry-Williams, Celia Pym, Freddie Robins, Kathleen Rogers, Michele Walker, Bob White, and Ealish Wilson.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

London United Korean Fan Club

London United Japanese Fan Club