Katsumura Concert

Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No. 1 was composed during the post-war years in Soviet Russia (1947-48) but, due to severe censorship at that time, it was not performed until 1955. Op. 77, along with his Tenth Symphony, is considered to be his most major accomplishment, which adopts a four-movement symphonic structure.

Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra is a masterpiece in a league of its own. Premièred on 1st December 1944, the oeuvre is developed in five-movements. The composer named it a ‘Concerto’ (rather than a symphony) to underline the virtuosic way in which every section of the orchestra is treated, alternating their role from ‘soloist’ to ensemble in turn.

Shostakovich – Violin Concerto no.1 op.77
Bartok – Concerto for Orchestra

Philharmonia Orchestra
Mayuko Katsumura – violin
Enrico Marconi – conductor

Date: 22 April 2012, 7pm
Venue: CADOGAN HALL, 5 Sloane Terrace London SW1X 9DQ
Tel: 020 7730 4500
Web: http://www.cadoganhall.com/event/philharmonia-orchestra-120422/?pid=1627
Ticket: £26 £32 £39
Organiser: Cadogan Hall

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

London United Korean Fan Club

London United Japanese Fan Club