Royal Philharmonic Orchestra – Jeajoon Ryu, Shostakovich and Prokofiev

Date: Tuesday 12 April, 2011, 7.30pm
Venue:  Cadogan Hall, 5 Sloane Terrace, London SW1X 9DQ
Tel: 020 7730 4500

Grzegorz Nowak conductor
Chloe Hanslip violin
In-Hye Kim soprano
Philharmonia Chorus

Shostakovich: Festive Overture
Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No.2
Ryu: Sinfonia da Requiem ‘Ju-yung Chung’ (London premiere)

Written in just three days, Shostakovich’s Festive Overture is full of bombast and glittering orchestral sounds, from its blazing fanfare to the sparkling melodies dashing across the orchestra. Another Russian classic, but in an entirely different mood, is Prokofiev’s Second Violin Concerto, full of enigmatic twists and turns.

Composed to commemorate the late Ju-yung Chung, Jeajoon Ryu’s intense and powerful Sinfonia da Requiem was hailed by fellow-composer Penderecki as ‘a masterpiece’.

6.30pm: Meet the Artists. Free pre-concert talk presented by Edward Seckerson.

Tickets*: £37.50, £30, £22, £12.50

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

London United Korean Fan Club

London United Japanese Fan Club